If you've been crossing your fingers for Fox to return to New York's supernatural-charged town of Sleepy Hollow, you can relax your hands, exhale, and settle comfortably back into your couch, because Fox has announced their renewal of Sleepy Hollow for an 18-episode third season, with the network also revealing the series' new showrunner (following Mark Goffman's departure earlier this month). Also included in our latest horror round-up is a trailer for the second episode of The CW's iZombie and details on the 10th Annual Texas Frightmare Weekend that will feature special guest Alexandra Breckenridge from The Walking Dead (as well as many other great guests).

Sleepy Hollow Season 3: Press Release - "Veteran Television Producer Clifton Campbell Signs On As Executive Producer and Showrunner

FOX has renewed mystery-adventure series SLEEPY HOLLOW for a third season, it was announced today by David Madden, President, Entertainment, Fox Broadcasting Company. Television producer Clifton Campbell has signed on as executive producer and showrunner.

“SLEEPY HOLLOW is truly inventive television. The talented producers – led by Alex, Bob, Len and Heather – along with the brilliant cast, anchored by Nicole and Tom, have created a fantastic world that brings ‘history’ to life with compelling and vibrant storytelling,” said Madden. “I had the pleasure of working with Clifton on both ‘The Glades’ and ‘White Collar.’ He is an excellent producer, and we can’t wait to see what this team has in store for Season Three.”

Campbell joins the series after serving as creator and executive producer of “The Glades” and co-executive producer on “White Collar.”

The jaw-dropping conclusion of Season Two left Ichabod Crane (Tom Mison) and Lieutenant Abbie Mills (Nicole Beharie) with a decisive, albeit heartbreaking, victory over evil. In the name of good, Crane made the ultimate decision to kill his wife, Katrina Crane (Katia Winter). With evil seemingly at bay, the third season will explore how the partnership between Crane and Mills will evolve and what challenges these two witnesses will now face.

SLEEPY HOLLOW is a thrilling mystery-adventure drama series spanning two and a half centuries, in which a resurrected Ichabod Crane (Tom Mison) pairs up with a present-day police lieutenant (Nicole Beharie) to save the enigmatic town of Sleepy Hollow – and the world – from unprecedented evil.

From K/O Paper Products in association with 20th Century Fox Television, SLEEPY HOLLOW is co-created by Alex Kurtzman, Roberto Orci, Phillip Iscove and Len Wiseman (“Hawaii Five-0,” “Underworld” and “Total Recall”). The series is executive-produced by Kurtzman, Orci, Wiseman, Heather Kadin and Clifton Campbell, who will serve as showrunner."

iZombie: Directed by John Kretchmer off a screenplay by Diane Ruggiero-Wright, the second episode of The CW's iZombie, "Brother, Can You Spare a Brain?", airs next Tuesday at 9:00pm EST.

"Co-created and executive produced by Rob Thomas & Diane Ruggiero-Wright (Veronica Mars), along with executive producers Danielle Stokdyk and Dan Etheridge (also of Veronica Mars), Rose McIver (Masters of Sex, Once Upon a Time) stars as Olivia “Liv” Moore, a 25-year-old medical resident on the fast track to a perfect life … until she’s turned into a zombie. Liv transfers her residency to the coroner’s office for access to the brains she must reluctantly eat, but with each brain she consumes, she inherits the corpse’s memories. With her medical examiner boss and a police detective, she now solves homicides to quiet the voices in her head. iZOMBIE is based upon characters created by Chris Roberson and Michael Allred for Vertigo."

10th Annual Texas Frightmare Weekend: Press Release - "Texas Frightmare Weekend proudly celebrates its epic 10th Anniversary at Dallas, Texas' DFW Hyatt Regency this May 1, 2, and 3 with more celebrities, premieres, and scares than ever!

TFW is America’s largest gathering of horror celebrities, professionals, and fans – now celebrating its tenth unbelievable year. The blockbuster event boasts over 10,000 attendees annually and has hosted hundreds of genre legends, including Clive Barker, Malcolm McDowell, George A. Romero, Robert Englund, John Carpenter, Tobe Hooper, and Cary Elwes!

Today, the convention is proud to announce the appearance of The Walking Dead and American Horror Story's Alexandra Breckenridge at this year's event.

The ever-growing list of celebrities previously announced for TFW 2015 include Scream stars Neve Campbell and Skeet Ulrich, the legendary Malcolm McDowell, Sharknado's Tara Reid, Brad Dourif, Angus Scrimm, Cassandra "Elvira" Peterson, Kim Coates, Charles Band, The Sacrament's AJ Bowen, The Shining twins Lisa and Louise Burns, Joseph Gatt, Sid Haig, James Hampton, C. Thomas Howell, Camille Keaton, screen legend Udo Kier, Quinn Lord, Jennifer Lynch, Ed Neil, William Sadler, Warlock's Julian Sands, Josh Stewart, Rachel True, Alex Vincent, and Alex Winter - as well as massive cast reunions for A Nightmare on Elm Street 2: Freddy's Revenge and the Phantasm series!

Texas Frightmare 2015 is also proud to announce that it will showcase the World Premiere of Ryan Nicholson's eagerly-anticipated Gutterballs 2: Balls Deep, with the director in attendance. Other films screening at this year's fest include Lost Souls: The Doomed Journey of Richard Stanley's Island of Dr. Moreau, Brian James O'Connell's horror/comedy Bloodsucking Bastards, the Jennifer Lynch-starring documentary Despite the Gods, Shawn Ewert's Sacrament, and and the Canadian hit Wolf Cop - with plenty more titles to come!"

To learn more, visit:

  • Derek Anderson
    About the Author - Derek Anderson

    Raised on a steady diet of R.L. Stine’s Goosebumps books and Are You Afraid of the Dark?, Derek has been fascinated with fear since he first saw ForeverWare being used on an episode of Eerie, Indiana.

    When he’s not writing about horror as the Senior News Reporter for Daily Dead, Derek can be found daydreaming about the Santa Carla Boardwalk from The Lost Boys or reading Stephen King and Brian Keene novels.

Leave a Reply