Every fall she dies, only to be resurrected in the spring. The seasonal cycle of Mother Nature is a beautiful thing to behold, but perhaps most gorgeous—and haunting—is the time of year when her leaves crunch underfoot and the nights grow longer. For years, Daniel Mitchell's heavy metal band Autumns Eyes has created music that blends perfectly with the Halloween season, and his latest album, Ending Life Slowly, is no exception. Ahead of the atmospheric new album's release this Halloween, we've been provided with an exclusive look at the album's morbidly beautiful artwork by Sorrow Grips to share with Daily Dead readers.

You can check out the new album artwork for Autumns Eyes' Ending Life Slowly below, and we also have additional details and a video update from Mitchell himself with more information. To learn more about Autumns Eyes, visit the band's official website.

Press Release: At the crossroad between a hallowed holiday and the cusp of a dead cold winter is where you’ll find Autumns Eyes mastermind Daniel Mitchell. After many seasons of seclusion and intermittently hitting the studio, the recording process has finally wrapped up for the new album titled Ending Life Slowly.

Mitchell is no stranger to the darker side of creativity, and crafts music free of constraints or label interference. Ending Life Slowly strikes a balance between somber reflections on mortality and full-force screaming metal, with cover art to reflect the album's dreary nature crafted by Indonesian artist Sorrow Grips. Mitchell had this to say about the striking artwork:

“As a graphic designer and a photographer, I've never had an issue coming up with album artwork for Autumns Eyes releases. Earlier this year I changed my tune after stumbling upon Sorrow Grips' artwork on Instagram. It was a piece done for the band Gojira, and the style of art immediately clicked inside my creative brain as something I had to feature with Autumns Eyes.

“The jack-o-lantern has always been a staple of Autumns Eyes imagery, so we wanted to showcase that image surrounded by death and decay of the Fall season in the month of November, which goes hand in hand with where the album Ending Life Slowly draws inspiration from.

“Once the art was complete and I could see these twisted ideas visualized for the first time, it inspired me to further pursue themes of death and decay on the album with both instrumentation and lyric writing. The artwork brought bliss to this black little heart, and I am honored to have worked with someone so hauntingly talented and inspiring.”

Due out on October 31st, Ending Life Slowly serves as the first full-length album from Autumns Eyes since the 2012 release of Please Deceive Me. Halloween and the death of Fall is a perfect time to be reminded that sometimes life ends far too slowly. Check out the album's artwork and track listing below, along with a video update from the studio released earlier this summer.

1. Death of October
2. Break the Skin
3. Your Last Day
4. Moments Into Memories
5. The Honest Liars
6. Couldn’t Hold On
7. Far Away From Fading
8. Internal Arson
9. Open Your Eyes, Not Your Wrists
10. Under the Skin of the Sun

  • Derek Anderson
    About the Author - Derek Anderson

    Raised on a steady diet of R.L. Stine’s Goosebumps books and Are You Afraid of the Dark?, Derek has been fascinated with fear since he first saw ForeverWare being used on an episode of Eerie, Indiana.

    When he’s not writing about horror as the Senior News Reporter for Daily Dead, Derek can be found daydreaming about the Santa Carla Boardwalk from The Lost Boys or reading Stephen King and Brian Keene novels.