Following the announcement of its first four cast members back in August, a second wave of actors have now joined the cast of CBS All Access' limited series adaptation of Stephen King's The Stand, his epic post-apocalyptic novel that follows the Earth's dwindling survivors after the Captain Trips virus wipes out most of humanity.

On Wednesday morning, Stephen King appeared on ABC's The View, and it was revealed that the following actors have joined the cast of The Stand (confirmed by Entertainment Weekly):

  • Whoopi Goldberg as Mother Abagail (confirming Collider's previous report)
  • Jovan Adepo as Larry Underwood
  • Owen Teague as Harold Lauder
  • Brad William Henke as Tom Cullen
  • Daniel Sunjata as Cobb

Additionally, Collider's Jeff Sneider reports that Alexander Skarsgård will play the pivotal role of Randall Flagg, aka The Man in Black.

As previously announced, James Marsden will play Stu Redman, Amber Heard will portray Nadine Cross, Odessa Young will play Frannie Goldsmith, and Henry Zaga will portray Nick Andros.

Also previously revealed, Stephen King will write a new final chapter for the event series that won't be from the book, so even longtime fans of The Stand won't know what to expect in the new ending.

Directed by Josh Boone, the new Stand event series will be the second adaptation of King's epic post-apocalyptic novel, following Mick Garris' previous four-part ABC miniseries that aired in 1994 and was written by King.

Stay tuned to Daily Dead for more updates on The Stand limited series, and check out official details from the previous press release below:

"THE STAND is Stephen King’s apocalyptic vision of a world decimated by plague and embroiled in an elemental struggle between good and evil. The fate of mankind rests on the frail shoulders of the 108-year-old other Mother Abagail and a handful of survivors. Their worst nightmares are embodied in a man with a lethal smile and unspeakable powers: Randall Flagg, the Dark Man.

The series will be produced by CBS Television Studios. Josh Boone and Ben Cavell will write and executive produce, with Boone also directing. Roy Lee, Jimmy Miller and Richard P. Rubinstein will also serve as executive producers with Will Weiske and Miri Yoon as co-executive producers. Knate Lee, Jill Killington and Owen King will serve as producers."

Source: Collider
  • Derek Anderson
    About the Author - Derek Anderson

    Raised on a steady diet of R.L. Stine’s Goosebumps books and Are You Afraid of the Dark?, Derek has been fascinated with fear since he first saw ForeverWare being used on an episode of Eerie, Indiana.

    When he’s not writing about horror as the Senior News Reporter for Daily Dead, Derek can be found daydreaming about the Santa Carla Boardwalk from The Lost Boys or reading Stephen King and Brian Keene novels.