In addition to this being a golden era of Stephen King adaptations, this is also a bloody good time for R.L. Stine fans, and that will continue into next year, as Netflix has reportedly made an agreement with Disney to pick up a trilogy of films based on Stine's Fear Street series set in the seriously spooky town of Shadyside.

Deadline reports that Netflix has acquired the three Fear Street movies and is planning to release them a month separate from each other throughout the summer of 2021, which will reportedly be referred to as "The Summer of Fear."

Produced by Chernin Entertainment, all three movies were directed by Leigh Janiak (Honeymoon) and co-written by Janiak and Kyle Killen, and they take place over three time periods: one in 1994, one in the 1600s, and, according to Bloody Disgusting (via Production Weekly), one in 1978.

The trilogy's cast includes Kiana Madeira, Olivia Welch, Benjamin Flores Jr, Gillian Jacobs, Darrell Britt-Gibson, Ashley Zukerman, Fred Hechinger, Julia Rehwald and Jeremy Ford.

At this time, the acquisition news and "The Summer of Fear" release plan have not yet been confirmed by Netflix, but we'll keep Daily Dead readers updated as more details are revealed.

Source: Deadline
  • Derek Anderson
    About the Author - Derek Anderson

    Raised on a steady diet of R.L. Stine’s Goosebumps books and Are You Afraid of the Dark?, Derek has been fascinated with fear since he first saw ForeverWare being used on an episode of Eerie, Indiana.

    When he’s not writing about horror as the Senior News Reporter for Daily Dead, Derek can be found daydreaming about the Santa Carla Boardwalk from The Lost Boys or reading Stephen King and Brian Keene novels.