The banner year of horror that was 2018 was highlighted by many celebratory occurrences both on and off the big screen, and chief among them was the return of Fangoria magazine via Cinestate. To celebrate the eagerly awaited return of Fangoria (and its ever-expanding involvement in the realms of book publishing and movie producing), Lakeshore Records has teamed up with Fangoria and an eclectic team of musicians (including John Carpenter, Cody Carpenter, and Daniel Davies) to release the ’80s-esque soundtrack Hollydoom as an official audio companion to the long-running magazine.

Press Release: DALLAS, TX January 4, 2019: Lakeshore Records has partnered with the iconic horror entertainment company FANGORIA to celebrate the return of its legendary horror magazine by releasing HOLLYDOOM, a soundtrack album full of classic favorites from John Carpenter, Binary Reptile, and Carpenter Brut, and new originals from Gunship, Power Glove, Mega Drive, and more.

The companies have enlisted some of the finest composers and musicians from horror’s past, present, and future to build a soundtrack that captures the energy and life of the horror genre. HOLLYDOOM is a celebration of the essential role that music plays inside the horror films we love. The right music can intensify the car chase, signal the impending doom of the final victim, and even give the murder weapon a personality of its own. The perfect movie soundtrack complements the director's vision by creating atmosphere and energy that would be absent otherwise. FANGORIA magazine has been capturing the atmosphere of the horror industry and all of its nuances since 1979 and HOLLYDOOM is its soundtrack companion.

“Possibly the last word in contemporary culture’s obsession with ’80s nostalgia, this album plays like the soundtrack to a movie that doesn’t exist, yet one whose title is right on the top of your tongue,” said the magazine’s Editor-in-Chief Phil Nobile Jr. “It’s ten tracks of affectionate, synth-driven false memories that will confuse music historians for generations.”

FANGORIA’s team handpicked artists that have made it their life’s work to tell stories and create atmosphere through the music they write. Each track on HOLLYDOOM will set the listener’s imagination free to roam into the dark unknown.

HOLLYDOOM will be available for preorder January 4th on iTunes and other outlets, with an available digital release date of January 11th, 2019. The soundtrack will be released on vinyl later in the year.

FANGORIA was recently acquired by CINESTATE, the Texas-based production company run by Dallas Sonnier, who relaunched the magazine in October as a print-only quarterly collectible. FANGORIA recently wrapped production on the Grady Hendrix-penned SATANIC PANIC, directed by Chelsea Stardust and starring Rebecca Romijn. Sonnier is best known for producing S. Craig Zahler’s BONE TOMAHAWK, BRAWL IN CELL BLOCK 99, and the upcoming DRAGGED ACROSS CONCRETE and THE STANDOFF AT SPARROW CREEK.


Track list:

  1. “Adult Themes” by Power Glove
  2. “Cthulhu” - featuring Corin Hardy by Gunship
  3. “Mandarin’s Claws” by Carpenter Brut
  4. “The Narrow Caves” by Binary Reptile (From CRAWL INTO THE NARROW CAVES)
  5. “Abyss” by John Carpenter (From LOST THEMES, in collaboration with Cody Carpenter and Daniel Davies)
  6. “The Black Dahlia” by Wojciech Golczewski
  7. “Initiation” by “Pentagram Home Video”
  8. “Razzle Dazzle” by Umberto
  9. “Fugue” by Ogre
  10. “Darker Skies” by Mega Drive

Pre-order link:



FANGORIA is an internationally distributed American horror film fan magazine, in publication since 1979. FANGORIA was acquired by CINESTATE, the Texas-based production company run by producer Dallas Sonnier, who re-launched the magazine in October as a print-only quarterly collectible while extending the franchise into films, podcasts, and books. FANGORIA recently wrapped production on the Grady Hendrix-penned Satanic Panic, directed by Chelsea Stardust and starring Rebecca Romijn.


CINESTATE is best known for producing S. Craig Zahler’s Bone Tomahawk starring Kurt Russell and Richard Jenkins, and Brawl In Cell Block 99 starring Vince Vaughn and Don Johnson. The company will soon release its next two features in 2019: another Zahler film, Dragged Across Concrete which premiered at the Venice Film Festival; and Henry Dunham’s The Standoff At Sparrow Creek which premiered in the Midnight Madness section of the Toronto International Film Festival.


LAKESHORE RECORDS is the four-time Grammy Nominated independent music division of Lakeshore Entertainment, producers of such films as The Age Of AdalineThe Lincoln Lawyer, The Ugly Truth, The Exoricsm Of Emily Rose, The Underworld franchise, and Million Dollar Baby winner of Four Academy Awards including Best Picture.

Lakeshore Records has released popular and classic soundtracks to such films as Drive, Stranger Things, Moonlight, Lady Bird, The Walking Dead, Star Trek Discovery, Little Miss Sunshine, The Hurt Locker, Napoleon Dynamite and many, many more.

Lakeshore Records has released score albums from composers such as Jonny Greenwood, Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, Nick Cave and Warrren Ellis, Danny Elfman, Clint Mansell, Cliff Martinez, James Horner, Thomas Newman, John Powell, Mark Isham, Graeme Revell, Rolfe Kent, Gustavo Santoalalla, Philip Glass, Dario Marianelli, Mark Mothersbaugh, Christophe Beck, Christopher Young, Rachel Portman, and Marco Beltrami.

  • Derek Anderson
    About the Author - Derek Anderson

    Raised on a steady diet of R.L. Stine’s Goosebumps books and Are You Afraid of the Dark?, Derek has been fascinated with fear since he first saw ForeverWare being used on an episode of Eerie, Indiana.

    When he’s not writing about horror as the Senior News Reporter for Daily Dead, Derek can be found daydreaming about the Santa Carla Boardwalk from The Lost Boys or reading Stephen King and Brian Keene novels.