With filming on the sixth Scream film slated to begin early this summer, four cast members from the fifth film have been confirmed to return by Spyglass Media and Paramount Pictures, along with a brief synopsis that teases a new chapter for those who survived Ghostface in the previous movie:

Press Release: LOS ANGELES (May 10, 2022) — The “Scream” family reunites once again with Melissa Barrera (“Sam,”) Jasmin Savoy Brown (“Mindy,”) Mason Gooding (“Chad,”) and Jenna Ortega (“Tara”) confirmed to return in the next installment of Spyglass Media and Paramount Pictures’ “Scream” franchise. Principal photography is slated to start in early summer.

The ”Scream” saga continues with the four survivors of the Ghostface killings as they leave Woodsboro behind and start a fresh chapter.

At the helm are Radio Silence’s Matt Bettinelli-Olpin and Tyler Gillett (“Scream,” “Ready or Not,”) with James Vanderbilt (“Scream,” “Murder Mystery,”) & Guy Busick (“Scream,” “Ready or Not,”) co-writing the screenplay. Project X Entertainment's Vanderbilt, Paul Neinstein and William Sherak are serving as producers (“Scream,” “Ambulance”). Creator Kevin Williamson and the third member of Radio Silence, Chad Villella, are executive producing alongside Spyglass’ Gary Barber and Peter Oillataguerre, Ron Lynch, Cathy Konrad and Marianne Maddalena. Fans can expect the next “Scream” to release in theatres worldwide on March 31, 2023.

After celebrating the franchise’s 25th Anniversary, "Scream" [2022] earned a “Certified Fresh” score from Rotten Tomatoes and went on to gross more than $140 million in worldwide box office, to date. Directed by Bettinelli-Olpin and Gillett and written by Vanderbilt & Busick from characters created by Williamson, the horror film’s cast included: Melissa Barrera, Kyle Gallner, Mason Gooding, Mikey Madison, Dylan Minnette, Jenna Ortega, Jack Quaid, Marley Shelton, Jasmin Savoy Brown, Sonia Ammar with Courteney Cox, David Arquette and Neve Campbell. Project X’s Vanderbilt, Neinstein and Sherak served as producers alongside executive producers Williamson, Villella, Barber, Oillataguerre, Lynch, Konrad and Maddalena. “Scream” 2022 is available now on Digital, 4k Ultra HD and Blu-ray and is currently streaming on Paramount +.

"Scream” is a long-running genre busting horror franchise, which previously generated four feature films including "Scream" (1996), "Scream 2" (1997), "Scream 3," (2000) and "Scream 4" (2011), directed by famed "maestro of horror," the late Wes Craven. “Scream” 1-4 went on to gross more than $600 million in worldwide box office receipts. Williamson wrote the original film as well as "Scream 2" and "Scream 4."

# # #


Spyglass Media Group, LLC is a global premium content company, led by Gary Barber, focused on developing, producing, financing and distributing motion pictures and television programming across all platforms for worldwide audiences. The company also has strategic backing from Lantern Capital Partners, Lionsgate, Warner Bros., Eagle Pictures and Cineworld Group.

About Paramount Pictures 

Paramount Pictures Corporation (PPC), a global producer and distributor of filmed entertainment, is a unit of Paramount (NASDAQ: PARA, PARAA), a leading global media and entertainment company that creates premium content and experiences for audiences worldwide. Paramount Pictures controls a collection of some of the most powerful brands in filmed entertainment, including Paramount Pictures, Paramount Animation, and Paramount Players. PPC operations also include Paramount Home Entertainment, Paramount Pictures International, Paramount Licensing Inc., and Paramount Studio Group.

  • Derek Anderson
    About the Author - Derek Anderson

    Raised on a steady diet of R.L. Stine’s Goosebumps books and Are You Afraid of the Dark?, Derek has been fascinated with fear since he first saw ForeverWare being used on an episode of Eerie, Indiana.

    When he’s not writing about horror as the Senior News Reporter for Daily Dead, Derek can be found daydreaming about the Santa Carla Boardwalk from The Lost Boys or reading Stephen King and Brian Keene novels.