After reading Heather's recent 4/5 review for The Wolf of Show Hollow, I can't wait to check it out this weekend and we're excited to share with Daily Dead readers and exclusive track from the movie's soundtrack! Also due out on October 9th, the 20-track release was composed by Ben Lovett and will be available courtesy of Lakeshore Records:

Lakeshore Records is set to release The Wolf of Snow Hollow—Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally on October 9.  Composed by Ben Lovett (The Ritual, The Wind), the album is a strikingly orchestrated, multi-faceted work inspired by old school Bernard Herrmann-era suspense thrillers reflecting all the dimensions of the offbeat horror film—from darkly comedic to tension-fueled terror to oddball mystery caper.  The album includes the newly reimagined cover version of “Little Red Riding Hood” originally performed by Sam the Sham & the Pharaohs in 1966, and given a seductive and thoroughly haunting treatment by Lovett and indie artist Valen.  

Written, directed and starring Jim Cummings, The Wolf of Snow Hollow will be released in select theaters and On Demand October 9. The album follows the release of the EP Little Red Riding Hood which includes four versions of Lovett’s adaption including a full Acapella arrangement of Valen’s vocal parts.

In The Wolf of Snow Hollow, a small-town sheriff, struggling with a failed marriage, a rebellious daughter, and a lackluster department, is tasked with solving a series of brutal murders that are occurring on the full moon. As he's consumed by the hunt for the killer, he struggles to remind himself that there's no such thing as werewolves…

The Wolf of Snow Hollow is written and directed by Jim Cummings (Thunder Road) who stars alongside Riki Lindhome (Knives Out, “Garfunkel and Oates”), Jimmy Tatro (“American Vandal,” Bad Education), Chloe East (“Kevin (Probably) Saves the World”) and the late Academy Award nominee Robert Forster (Jackie Brown, The Descendants) in his final feature role.

Speaking about working with the director Cummings, Lovett noted: “After seeing Thunder Road I leapt at the opportunity to collaborate with Jim and tried to match his energy every step of the way.  Jim is a big music fan and had tremendous enthusiasm for the process.  

We talked about everything from Prokofiev to Bernard Herrmann and I could tell he wanted to go big.  We had a tiny budget but a lot of ambition, and I wanted to see if we could pack big ideas into small packages.”

Expanding on the score, Lovett adds: “On a score like this the aim is to be referential without being derivative, to celebrate the influences instead of trying to hide them.  I like folding a love letter into what I’m doing but try to keep from getting too caught up in that, ultimately I’m just chasing an instinct about a sound and feel that hopefully expands on the personality and character of the film.”

Track List

  1. The Werewolf
  2. Welcome to Snow Hollow
  3. Little Red Riding Hood
  4. First Full Moon
  5. First Crime Scene
  6. Snow Hollow Mystery
  7. Second Full Moon
  8. Second Crime Scene
  9. Slopes
  10. Relapse
  11. Werewolf Stories
  12. Third Crime Scene
  13. Utah
  14. Detectives
  15. Second Relapse
  16. Full Moon Fever
  17. Snow Hollow Killer
  18. Returning Evidence
  19. For Protection
  20. New Sheriff


Ben Lovett is an American recording artist, songwriter and composer known for crafting unconventional scores to a diverse range of films including the Netflix original THE RITUAL, Independent Spirit Award nominee THE SIGNAL, the Duplass Brothers’ survival thriller BLACK ROCK, Amy Seimetz’s award-winning noir SUN DON’T SHINE, Emma Tammi’s haunted western THE WIND, and the time travel sci-fi noir SYNCHRONICITY which earned Ben a nomination for “Discovery of the Year” at the prestigious World Soundtrack Awards.   

Lovett’s scoring career flew into motion after THE SIGNAL debuted at Sundance in 2007 on its way to widespread success and enduring cult fandom.  In the years since Ben has scored over 30 films, received numerous awards and worldwide recognition from countless collaborative projects such as the visual adaptations for his own original songs “Eye Of The Storm,” “The Fear, and “Ghost of Old Highways” as well as original music for the films AMERICAN FOLK and TOMMY – an “ESPN 30 for 30” documentary on the late American boxing champion Tommy Morrison.

In addition to THE WOLF OF SNOW HOLLOW, Lovett’s latest work includes scores for the Hulu series INTO THE DARK, the colorful taxidermy documentary STUFFED and a new collaboration with The Ritual director David Bruckner on the Searchlight Pictures thriller, THE NIGHT HOUSE.


Lakeshore Records is a four-time Grammy Nominated record label, and the soundtrack arm of the Cutting Edge Group.  Lakeshore Records is the global independent leader in top line soundtrack album releases, including such popular, critically acclaimed and classic soundtracks as Drive, Stranger Things, The Walking Dead, Star Trek: Discovery, The Handmaid's Tale, Napoleon Dynamite, the Academy Award nominated Lady Bird and Academy Award winners Moonlight, Little Miss Sunshine, If Beale Street Could Talk and The Hurt Locker and many, many more.

Lakeshore Records works with the most respected, award-winning artists and composers such as Jonny Greenwood, Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, Nick Cave and Warren Ellis, Daniel Lanois, PJ Harvey, Nicholas Britell, Danny Elfman, Clint Mansell, Cliff Martinez, James Horner, Thomas Newman, John Powell, Mark Isham, Graeme Revell, Rolfe Kent, Gustavo Santaolalla, Philip Glass, Dario Marianelli, Mark Mothersbaugh, Christophe Beck, Christopher Young, Rachel Portman, and Marco Beltrami.

Recent Lakeshore Records titles include the Apple TV+ flagship launch series The Morning Show composed by Carter Burwell, Randy Newman’s Marriage Story, and Red Dead Redemption 2 featuring music by Daniel Lanois, Willie Nelson, D’Angelo, Rhiannon Giddens, Josh Homme, and Rocco DeLuca.

For more information, visit: 

Leave a Reply